North Carolina secedes from the Union

(Monday, May 20, 1861) — North Carolina voted to secede from the Union today, the tenth state to do so since December 20, following South Carolina, Mississippi, Florida, Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, Texas, Virginia and Arkansas. One more state (Tennessee) will secede in the coming weeks to form the eleven states of the Confederacy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *