Monthly Archives: August 2013

Soviets shoot down Korean Air Lines Boeing 747, 269 killed 30 years ago this hour (1983)


Video: 'Soviet Fighter Shot Down, Commerical Airline - Documentary'

(Thursday, September 1, 1983, 3:36 a.m. Tokyo time, Wednesday, August 31, 1983, 18:36 UTC, 2:36 p.m. EDT; during the Cold War) — Korean Air Lines Flight 007 was shot down today by a Soviet Union Su-15 interceptor near Moneron Island when the commercial aircraft entered Soviet airspace. All 269 on board were killed including U.S. Congressman Larry McDonald.

Moscow–Washington hotline becomes operational 50 years ago today (1963)


Video: 'Dr. Strangelove phone conversation U.S President'

(Friday, August 30, 1963) — The Moscow–Washington hotline, which was created as a result of the Cuban Missile Crisis to reduce the risk of accidental war, began operations today as the U.S. Department of Defense made a one-sentence announcement to the world press: “The direct communication link between Washington and Moscow is now operational.”