Van Buren inaugurated as eighth U.S. President, Johnson as ninth VP 180 years ago #OnThisDay #OTD (Mar 4 1837)

(Saturday, March 4, 1837, midday local time) — Vice President Martin Van Buren of Virginia was inaugurated today as the eighth President of the United States on the East Portico of the U.S. Capitol in Washington, D.C., with Chief Justice Roger Taney administering the oath of office.

Van Buren, a Democrat, succeeded Democratic President Andrew Jackson (who did not seek a third term) after defeating former Whig Senator William Henry Harrison of Ohio in the United States presidential election of 1836.

Rep. Richard Mentor Johnson of New York was inaugurated as the ninth Vice President of the United States (succeeding Van Buren) after defeating Whig Rep. Francis Granger of New York 36-16 in the Senate after Johnson failed to receive a majority of the electoral vote.

For the first time in inaugural history, the outgoing President (Jackson) and incoming President (Van Buren) rode together to the Capitol.

Video: 'Martin Van Buren | 60-Second Presidents | PBS'

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *