Daily Archives: August 31, 2013

Soviets shoot down Korean Air Lines Boeing 747, 269 killed 30 years ago this hour (1983)


Video: 'Soviet Fighter Shot Down, Commerical Airline - Documentary'

(Thursday, September 1, 1983, 3:36 a.m. Tokyo time, Wednesday, August 31, 1983, 18:36 UTC, 2:36 p.m. EDT; during the Cold War) — Korean Air Lines Flight 007 was shot down today by a Soviet Union Su-15 interceptor near Moneron Island when the commercial aircraft entered Soviet airspace. All 269 on board were killed including U.S. Congressman Larry McDonald.